Backgammon Club

Archive News 2018

One Day Tournament 26th April
The 16th annual Manchester tournament was held at Manchester Bridge Club, probably the last time it will be held at this venue.  56 entrants sat down to play, having filled some late withdrawal places at the last minute, the last place going to Radu Ciortan, who was pleased to get it as he won the main event.  Contestants came from all over the country, including London, the Midlands, Liverpool and Yorkshire.  We had three young contestants with David Broomfield doing very well to qualify for the Main knock out.  The usual format was a qualifying afternoon of five five point matches with the top sixteen qualifying for the Main final and the rest for the consolation.

In the Main final Radu beat Neil Smith (a regular Manchester player a few years ago when he was working in the city) from the St Albans club.  Manchester's Ian Gray won the consolation against Fak Laight from Birmingham and in the Last Chance Richard Biddle beat Manchester's Bob Slater.  The final competition, the one pointer, meandered on all day, but finished first with Peter Chan adding to his trophy collection against Len Nixey.

Thanks to Christine and Lorraine for lunch and tea buffets respectively.  Thanks to Kevin Jones for directing on the day.  Also to Annette Jones for scoring and Rodney Lighton for administration, to club members for helping set up the room and clearing up and to Manchester Bridge club for hosting the event.

Last Chance
One pointer
Radu Ciortan
Ian Gray
Richard Biddle
Peter Chan
Neil Smith
Fak Laight
Bob Slater
Len Nixey
Shaun Goode
George Hall
Frank Fleming
Richard Biddle

Sean Jones
Roger Keys
John Broomfield
David Fall
Steve Fowles
Paul Barwick
Eli Nixey
Ian Turner

John Broomfield
Irving Czechowicz
Jon Wilkinson
Sarah Jolliff

Peter Chan
Richard Carter
Jon Barnes
Radu Ciortan

Patrick Collins
Pam Wright
Gregge Madan
Simon Jones


Main Radu Ciortan and Neil Smith

Consolation Ian Gray and Fak Laight

Last Chance

Last Chance Richard Biddle and Bob Slater

One Point

One Point Len Nixey and Peter Chan

Lorraine Lighton