Backgammon Club

Archive News 2017

UK Club Championship at St Neots 12th August
The Manchester team of Rachel Rhodes, CJ Uttley, Aysel Naim, Ian Gray and Ian Vaughan played group matches against Lowestoft, St. Albans A, Worcester Sorcerers (surely the best team name) and Holland Park.  Sadly the team did not progress, with just one win, and were then sent to (play) Coventry, to be knocked out of the Consolation for an early finish.
Notably, CJ won all her matches in the Main.

Blackpool Tournament
Blackpool Winners
Brian Lever and Andrew Smith
Winners of the Fylde Trophy and Washington Cup respectively
at Blackpool on 10-11th June

One Day Tournament 26th March
The 15th annual Manchester tournament was held at Manchester Bridge Club.  Kevin Jones is now the only player who has played in all the events.  The clash with Mother's day seemed to cause some entrants difficulties, but we managed to find some last minute reserves to replace cancellations and 56 entrants sat down to play.  The usual format was a qualifying afternoon of five five point matches with the top sixteen qualifying for the Main final and the rest for the consolation.

The Main final was, for the first time ever, an all Manchester contest.  Mark Calderbank emerged victorious beating Kevin Jones.  Kevin has now lost the Manchester final three times, but will doubtless triumph one day. The consolation was won by last year's Last Chance winner Ana Mancino in another Manchester final against John Ross.  The Last Chance went to CJ Uttley who beat Ian Turner  In the one point event Steve Fowles won against Ian Vaughan.

Thanks to Bridget and Lorraine for lunch and tea buffets respectively.  Thanks to Kevin Jones for directing on the day.  Also to Annette Jones for scoring and Rodney and Lorraine Lighton for administration, to club members for helping set up the room and clearing up and to Manchester Bridge club for hosting the event.

Last Chance
One pointer
Mark Calderbank
Ana Mancino
CJ Uttley
Steve Fowles
Kevin Jones
John Ross
Ian Turner
Ian Vaughan
Rachel Rhodes
Alexander Polden
Saul Brody
Richard Biddle

Tim Brown
David Phillips
George Hall
Saul Brody
Simon Jones
Peter Snape
Christian Cozos
Mike Wood

Andreas Sophocleus
Abdollah Ahmadi
Rob Perry
Brian Lever

Martyn Hamer
Ian Shimwell
Ian Gray
Kevin Jones

Richard Coburn
Steve Lee
Radu Ciortan
Peter Chan


Main: Mark Calderbank and Kevin Jones

Consolation: Ana Mancino and John Ross
Last Chance

Last Chance: CJ Uttley and Ian Turner
One Point

One Point: Ian Vaughan and Steve Fowles