Manchester County
Bridge Association

This calendar lists MCBA events as well as events of interest to MCBA members in nearby counties i.e. Cumbria, Westmorland, Lancashire, Merseyside & Cheshire, North Wales, Mid Wales, Yorkshire, Derbyshire and Staffordshire & Shropshire, also EBU events held in the North.  I do not guarantee the accuracy of all this information and you are advised to check the relevant web site for detailed information.  Please inform me of any errors, omissions and changes.

 
Date
 
Event
Venue
2017


Saturday 25th - Sunday 26th November
Llangollen congress
Llangollen
Sunday 3rd Dec Ben Franks Pairs (MCBA members only) Manchester Bridge Club
Sunday 3rd December
Lytham Rose Bowl
Lytham
Sunday 17th Dec
Santa Claus Pairs
Manchester Bridge Club
Weds 27th - Sat 30th December
Northern Year End Congress
Blackpool
2018


Saturday 6th - Sunday 7th January Manchester Congress Victoria and Albert  Hotel Water Street M3 4JQ
Sunday 14th January
Blue Point Teams
Preston Bridge Club
Saturday 27th - Sunday 28th January
Chester Congress
Deva BC
Sunday 4th February 13.00 Gazette Cup (Teams of 8) Altrincham
Friday 16th - Sunday 18th February
Harrogate Spring Congress
Harrogate
Sunday 25th February Cantor Cup (Newcomers) Manchester Bridge Club
Saturday 3rd March (11 am start) EBU/Manchester Green Point Event (Pairs) St Peters Assembly Rooms
(Altrincham Bridge Club)
Sunday 4th Mar
Merseyside & Cheshire GP Swiss Teams
Deva
Fri 9th - Sunday 11th March
Cumbria Congress
Grange over Sands
Sunday 18th March
National Pairs Regional Finals
Bradford
Sunday 25th March
Portland Pairs
Brierfield
Friday 30th March - Sunday 1st April
Northern Easter Festival
tba
Sat 7th - Sunday 8th April
North Wales Spring Congress
Ramada Wrexham
Sunday 8th April
Intermediate Swiss Pairs Manchester Bridge Club
Sunday 8th April
Hector Barker Pivot Teams
Southport
Sunday 15th April
Preston Blue Pointed Pairs
Preston
Sunday 29th April Higson Cup and Plate Final Manchester Bridge Club
Saturday 28th - Sunday 29th April
Shropshire Congress
Telford
Sunday 13th May
Blackburn Swiss Pairs
Blackburn
Sunday 20th May Castle Swiss Pairs
Huddersfield
Sunday 20th May
Merseyside & Cheshire GP Swiss Pairs
Merseyside BC
Wednesday 23rd May (7.30 pm) MCBA AGM Altrincham Bridge Club
Monday 28th May Bolton Spring Bank Holiday Swiss Teams Bolton Bridge Club
Fri 1st - Sunday 3rd June
Yorkshire Congress
Harrogate
Sunday 10th June (13.30) Summer Intermediate Pairs Altrincham Bridge Club
Saturday 30th June- Sunday 1st July
President's Cup
To be arranged
Saturday 7th - Sunday 8th July
Llandudno Swiss Pairs
Venue Cymru Llandudno
Saturday 21st July?  (tbc)
Michelle Brunner Memorial Manchester Bridge Club
Sunday 22nd July  (11 am start) EBU/Manchester Green Point Event (Teams) St Peters Assembly Rooms
(Altrincham Bridge Club)
Wednesday 25th - Sunday 29th July
Scarborough Summer Congress
Scarborough
tba
Match v Derbyshire Derbyshire
Sunday 5th August Preston Blue Point Pairs Preston
Tues 21st - Thurs 23rd August
Northern Midweek Congress
tba
3rd Sept Final date for entries to Merville Goldstone Trophy
Friday 7th - Sunday 9th Sept Bolton Congress Bolton BC
Sat 15th - Sunday 16th September Cumbria/Westmorland Swiss Teams/Pairs Kendal
tba
Premier League Manchester Bridge Club
Sat 22nd - Sunday 23rd September Derby Green Point Swiss weekend Spondon
Sat 29th - Sunday 30th Sept
Great Northern Swiss Pairs Leeds
Sun 7th Oct?? North Wales Swiss Pairs Northop
Sun 14th Oct Chester Bowl Deva BC
Sat 27th - Sun 28th Oct Lancashire Congress Bolton/Blackburn/Brierfield?
Sunday 4th Nov? Autumn Intermediate Pairs St Peters Assembly Rooms
(Altrincham Bridge Club)
Sunday 11th November Pendle Witch Pairs Brierfield
Saturday 24th - Sunday 25th November? Llangollen congress Llangollen
2019


Saturday 26th - Sunday 27th January Chester Congress Deva BC
Saturday 2nd March (11 am start) EBU/Manchester Green Point Event (Pairs) St Peters Assembly Rooms
(Altrincham Bridge Club)
Saturday 27th - Sunday 28th April Shropshire Congress
Telford
Sunday 21st July  (11 am start) EBU/Manchester Green Point Event (Teams) St Peters Assembly Rooms
(Altrincham Bridge Club)
 

Manchester Events in bold, many events start at 13.30 (but check home page for exact times)

Northern League Dates 2018

Sunday 24th June National League Finals (provisional)

Date
A
B
C
Sat 14th July
Sheffield
Bradford
Keighley
Sat 19th Aug
Brierfield
Leeds
Bradford
Sat 22nd Sep
Bradford
Keighley
Bradford
Sat 6th Oct
Bolton
Bradford
Leeds