Manchester County
Bridge Association

Home League Goldstone Calendar Minutes County Honours
International Honours
Books System
Links Cup PotY Clubs Officers National Honours
History Problems Teaching
1999 2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014

Latest News and Upcoming Events
(site best viewed with a monitor resolution of at least 1280 * 1024)
Upcoming Events

Manchester Congress 2015
A long way off, but advanced notice that next year's congress will be a week later on 10-11th January at the same venue - Victoria and Albert Hotel.

EBU Events
Click here for the EBU calendar
Northern League Match 2
The second round of the Northern League took place on Saturday 30th August at Manchester Bridge Club for the A and B teams and at Blackburn for the C team.

In the A division the Manchester A1 team of  Michael Byrne/Michael Newman, Gary Hyett/John Holland, Kath & Alan Nelson and Joy & Irving Blakey won with John and Gary topping the cross IMPs.  The Manchester A2 team of David Audley/Raymond Semp, Craig Fisher/Peter Jones, Eve Lighthill/Sidney Travers, David Barton/Alan Jones finished last with David and Alan the best pair on the cross IMPs.  This leaves the Manchester A1 team still leading and the Manchester A2 team still anchored at the bottom of the table.

In the B division Stephen Ward/Chris Hine, Barbara Lewis/Sam Herman, David Pennington/Rod Franks, Bill & Joyce White won but this left the team in 7th place, though a lot closer to 6th.  Well done to Stephen and Chris who headed the cross IMPs for the division, Bill and Joyce also had a good cross IMP score.

In the C division the team of Ann Edwards/Ken Hughes, Richard Sinton/Kevin Higgins, Jeanne & Ron Bayly and Marcelo & Elena Rosenbaum finished bottom to drop from second to fourth place.  Ann and Ken were our top pair on the cross IMPs.

All the results are now posted on the Northern league web site.

Telford Midweek Congress
In the EBU congress at Telford there were several second places for Manchester players.  John Holland with Pat Davies were second in the pairs and also in the Swiss Teams where they played with Taf Anthias and Warner Solomon.  This second place in the teams was shared with Alec Smalley, Barbara Lewis, Joy and Irving Blakey.

WBU Congress Aberystwyth
Congratulations to Bill and Joyce White who won the Mixed Pairs at Aberystwyth on 15th August, Pauline Lang and Steve Mattinson were third.

Northern Bridge League Selections
The selectors met on Tuesday 12th August and selected the following teams for the third and fourth Northern league matches.

Saturday 13th September
Saturday 11th October
A Division Bradford

Kath & Alan Nelson
Gary Hyett/Raymond Semp
David Barton/Alan Jones
Tom Slater/Alec Smalley

John Roberts/Dave Audley
John Currie/Royce Alexander
Peter Jones/Craig Fisher
Neil Thomas/Nicholas Greer
A Division Bradford

Michael Newman/Michael Byrne
John Holland/Alan Mould
Kath & Alan Nelson
John Currie/Rodney Lighton

David Barton/Alan Jones
Rod Franks/David Pennington
Ken Hassell/Ian Kane
Eddie Thornton-Chan/Tony Hodgson

B Division Keighley

Eve Lighthill/Ken Hassell
Bill & Joyce White
Pauline Lang/Steve Mattinson
Rod Franks/David Pennington
B Division Bradford

Robert & Joyce Jones
Sid Travers/David Olliver
Dave Audley/Frank Brown
Sylvia Massey/Herbert Potts
C Division Bradford

Kevin Higgins/Richard Sinton
Stephen Ward/James Sheppard
Elena & Marcelo Rosenbaum
Dhun Daji/Howard Stubbings
C Division Leeds

Gillian McMullan/Roger Hopton
Kevin & Celia Comrie
Karen Reissmann/Irene Davies
Roy Higginbottom/Joan Lewis

Brighton Summer Meeting
The EBU's main congress of the year took place from Friday 8th to Sunday 17th August.
In the Swiss Pairs Michael Byrne and Mike Bell finished in second place, an excellent result in a field of 286 pairs.  Next best Manchester pair were John Holland and Alan Nelson who were 35th.
In the Sunday evening open pairs Mike Bell won with Bill Gardner.
In the B Final of the bracketed Teams Tom Slater and Alex Hunt won with Graeme Robertson and Lavinia Constantin; a first win in an EBU event for Alex Hunt, I believe.
In Monday's Play with an Expert, Michael Byrne won NS with Adam Bowden and Sean Mekie won EW with Alex Hydes.
Sean Mekie won his second event of the week in the Friday afternoon Open Pairs with Nigel Guthrie.
In the A final of the teams John Holland was third with Ben Green, Cameron Small and Phil King
In the B final of the teams Gary Hyett and Michael Byrne were third with Ros and Geoffrey Wolfarth.
Full results are on the EBU web site.

Northern League Match 1
The first of four matches took place on Saturday 2nd August at Manchester for the A and C teams and at Leeds for the B team.

This year Manchester have entered two teams in the A division.  The A1 team of Michael Byrne/Michael Newman, Alan Mould/John Holland, Bernard and Rhona Goldenfield, Alec Smalley/Tom Slater won comfortably ahead of Merseyside, with Alec and Tom having an enormous cross IMP score of over 2 IMPs per board.  However, the A2 team of Rodney Lighton/Nicholas Greer, Sue Richmond/Neil Thomas, Alan Jones/David Barton, Joy and Irving Blakey have some catching up to do, finishing last on the day.

In the B division David Olliver/Sid Travers, Howard Stubbings/Dhun Daji, Steve Mattinson/Pauline Lang and Joyce and Robert Jones finished 7th, with David and Sid being far the best on the cross IMPing of the Manchester pairs.

In the C division Manchester finished second, though a long way adrift of Yorkshire SE.  The team was Irene Davies/Karen Reissmann, Gillian McMullan/Roger Hopton, Herbert Potts/Sylvia Massey and Geoff Hull/Kenneth Hughes.  Sylvia and Herbert were easily the best of the Manchester pairs.

All the results including Butlers, travellers etc. are on the Northern League web site.

Please e-mail information for the site to Rodney Lighton (
Last updated 1st September 2014.  Pages updated recently - News
Thanks to Michael Byrne for many reports.
  League and cup pages maintained by Kath Nelson.
Counter - visitors since Jan 2000.  Copyright Rodney Lighton 1999-2014.